Carnaval!!! - Reisverslag uit Recife, Brazilië van Hilda Alberda - WaarBenJij.nu Carnaval!!! - Reisverslag uit Recife, Brazilië van Hilda Alberda - WaarBenJij.nu

Carnaval!!!

Door: Hilda Alberda

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Hilda

02 Maart 2006 | Brazilië, Recife

I guess you all would like to know how it is to celebrate Carnaval in Brasil?! Well, it's everywhere... Since the beginning of my stay in Brasil people asked me what my plans were for Carnaval. Brasilians have been planning and rehercing for Carnaval since months. The week before Carnaval there were already many parties and blocos (the kind of parade I told you about in my last story).
Okay... my Carnaval: on Friday evening I went to a bloco in Recife Antigo. It was a relatively small one, that is known for playing the more traditional music. I went there with Scott, Amanda, Alexandre, Catarina, Rafael and Daniel (a friend of them). A bloco actually means music (either from a band that is walking in front of the crowd or from one of these big trucks that are loaded with boxes), some hugh doll-like figures that are carried along by a person on its shoulders (the person is actually inside the doll, so it looks like a huge person is walking along) and a crowd of people walking along the streets, dancing and drinking... Some people are wear their normal clothes (although colourful), some where just some more fancy/ flowered clothes and some wear complete costumes. It is really nice to see how all these people walk around, all dressed up/ wearing costumes during these 5 days. You see busses full of these people, carrying their instruments etc. All Recife was decorated as well, the city itself, but also the shops and everyting...
On Saturday there was this huge bloco that is named after the 20 meter high rooster that goes along with this parade. I saw bits of it on television, but it is really huge. It is in the Guiness Book of Records as the biggest bloco in the world and about 800.000 till 1 million people attend it. But, it is also know to be a big mess/ disordered, so... I went to Olinda with Amanda. Olinda was great! Because most people go to Recife on Saturday Olinda is way more quiet, but still has many people walking its streets. I really enjoyed Olinda, this was the best part of Carnaval for me! All these people dressed up, happy, dancing, making fun! Great! And ofcourse, the weather was great... We just walked around and I actually met many people! That was nice! So we walked around, met friends, got wet because of boys shooting water from their water guns at us... boys trying to kiss me, or showing their interest in very original other ways... haha! It was funny! We only stayed in Olinda the afternoon and got back at Amanda's house at 19h or so. I had dinner there and then we went into Recife Antigo.. the old center of Recife where many blocos were going, people were dancing, drinking, partying... a big crowd! Although not as big as during the day. Before I knew it was late and we went home... I only slept a little because we were leaving for Itamaracá very early the next morning. I spend one night at Itamaracá, enjoying the beach, watching the neighbours getting drunk, dancing/ singing and shouting 'Hello how are you' and You are so beautiful' at me... and me myself getting a bit red (sunburned) as well... On Monday afternoon I went back to Recife. I spent my evening at the pension, washing my clothes and getting some sleep. On Tuesday I went to visit Paulo in Porto the Galinhas where his parents just bought a new house. So, part of my Carnaval I spend on the beach, relaxing... I did not party as much as some Brazilians do, but I enjoyed Carnaval anyway! Imagine spending 5 Queensdays in Amsterdam on a row... haha! Only without rain... That's heavy!
Well, my story turned out to be longer than I planned it to be... I just wanted to give you a quick impression of Carnaval in Recife and Olinda, but it is a bit difficult to do this in words... I have some pictures, but only on my disposable camera, cause it is no use to bring a digital one... you can be sure it will get stolen.
Enjoy the snow in Holland! I will be enjoying the warmth for another month here in Brasil!
Beijos, Hil.
Hilda

Freetown, Sierra Leone

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 419
Totaal aantal bezoekers 139084

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Januari 2008 - 04 April 2008

Twee maanden India

23 Juli 2006 - 19 Augustus 2006

Barcelona

04 Januari 2006 - 03 April 2006

Hilda está em Recife!

15 Januari 2011 - 30 November -0001

Sierra Leone

Landen bezocht: