Let´s get it started... - Reisverslag uit Recife, Brazilië van Hilda Alberda - WaarBenJij.nu Let´s get it started... - Reisverslag uit Recife, Brazilië van Hilda Alberda - WaarBenJij.nu

Let´s get it started...

Door: Hilda Alberda

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Hilda

13 Januari 2006 | Brazilië, Recife

It´s me again... Just to tell you about my first day at the university here. I attended a seminar about masculinity and health yesterday... it was probably very interesting, but still a bit difficult to understand the essence of what people are saying (especially on a level like this). But, it was nice and I figured it was better to go and to try to understand as much as possible than to stay at home! There was also some live music in between... wow! This skinny boy sits down with his guitar and starts singing... that was really beautiful! I met some people at the university, people that work at the anthropology department, who work at Scott´s gender-research-deparment, professors and other students. Till now I heard about some very interesting researches of other students and they seem to be interested in mine as well! That´s a good start!
Parry Scott (whom they call Scotch here... hihi) showed me the anthropology department and his office where I can use a computer when needed and read some of his books (I already saw some very interesting ones that can help me with my thesis), though most are in Portuguese...
I am meeting Scott this afternoom to talk my research through, I am very curious what his ideas are (it seems that he found my paper good/ inetersting, so that´s a start). And, of course, he is very anxious about my ideas. So, hopefully we can make some dicissions so I can get my research started. For example, I am still not sure if I want to do my research in the favelas or in middle class families... hope to figure things like this out this afternoom.
Furthermore, I am still enjoying my stay in my new home! It is so good to have this clean (there is a cleaningservice once or twice a week) room for myself! The girls are becomming more chatty since they figured out that I can speak some Portuguese. The lady of the house keeps repeating things, although I tell here that I understand... She is trying really hard to make me feel at home, which is really nice!
If everything goes as planned (which does not usually happen) I will go with Amanda (and maybe some other people) to a bar named Kelly which is really close to my home. That is were all the students are supposed to gather. I was also invited to go to Catarina´s graduation ball on Saturday... hopefully that happens! Furthermore the daughter of the pension owner invited me to go to the beach on Sunday... hopefully she remembers, cause I haven´t been sunbathing (as in really lying still and enjoying the sun) much here. We´ll see! Till now, everyday has it´s suprises! Which is good!
Well, that´s about it. It´s almost lunchtime and I want to prepare my meeting with Scotch ;).
Tchau tchau!
Hilda
Hilda

Freetown, Sierra Leone

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 384
Totaal aantal bezoekers 139084

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Januari 2008 - 04 April 2008

Twee maanden India

23 Juli 2006 - 19 Augustus 2006

Barcelona

04 Januari 2006 - 03 April 2006

Hilda está em Recife!

15 Januari 2011 - 30 November -0001

Sierra Leone

Landen bezocht: